• No products in the cart.




Through a gazette notice by the Cabinet Secretary for Youth Affairs, the Arts, and Sports, Ababu Namwamba, the TALANTA HELA COUNCIL and it’s committees were announced.

Ababu Namwamba
Ababu Namwamba

The council consisting of Two committees one for sports and another for the creatives will be led by The Cabinet Secretary Ababu Namwamba and will also include the Principal Secretary of the State Department of Sports, the Principal Secretary of the State Department of Youth Affairs and the Arts, the Principal Secretary of the State Department of Basic Education, and representatives from the Council of Governors

Set to last for three years the council also includes notable figures in sports and creative sectors consisting of;

  • David Langat
  • Debra Mallowah
  • Abraham Kipyego Mutai
  •  Charles Gacheru
  • Claudia Naisabwa Leshomoo
  • Nobert Ouma
  • June Chepkemei
  • Dennis Itumbi

The Sports Technical Committee is led by Carol Radull

Carol Radull
Carol Radull

as Chairperson and comprises of 11 members. The members are;

  • Boniface Ambani
  • Julius Kiplagat Yego
  • Neddy Kutsuru
  • Alfred Makotsi
  • Sammy Tiyoi Shollei
  • Collins Kale
  • Kevin Mutai
  • Shilovelo Winna Shilavula
  • Daniel Nakeor Losiru
  • Staicy Shariffa Ochieng

The committee will be responsible for promoting the growth of sports, supporting the Kenya Academy of Sports, using technology to identify and nurture talent, establishing a framework to monetize sports and expand employment opportunities, managing the annual bottom-up football tournament, and supporting the Harambee Stars and Harambee Starlets in their respective pursuits.

The Creatives Technical Committee is led by Daniel Ndambuki (Churchill)


as Chairperson and comprises of 10 members, including;

  • Akinyi Odongo
  • Jimmi Gathu
  • Catherine Kamau (Kate Actress)
  • Esther Akoth (Akothee)
  • Kizito Makhande
  • Azziad Nasenya
  • Rosemary Wahu Kagwi
  • Awadhi Salim Awadhi
  • Douglas Kipkirui Langat
  • Susan Ekasiba

The committee will be responsible for proposals related to the collection and distribution of royalties, implementing the National Creatives Economy Plan, managing the National Creatives Awards, monetizing the creatives sector, upgrading arts facilities and infrastructure, and promoting Kenya as a top film-making destination.

The Talanta Hela initiative is a bold step by the Kenyan government to support the growth of the country’s sports and creative economy, create employment opportunities, and position Kenya as a destination of choice for sports tourism and film-making.

Sources: NTV Kenya

Derrick Kinyanjui

Derrick Kinyanjui is a Screen, Stage, Voice Actor and Writer He has featured in acclaimed projects such as the Showmax Hit TV Series COUNTY 49 and the Chemi Chemi Players Stage Play PILATE

Leave a Reply




    Please Enter your email id, the password will send your email